This space has become a bit of a struggle for me. As has the camera. All this waiting for doctors has gotten me side tracked. Not just from here but from a lot of other things in my life lately. It’s been a long three months and the warmth of spring which has been gracing us lately has gotten me thinking about moving forward. My husband and I have decided to have a month of beauty.

I know reading that it sounds funny but if you know us it’s just about right. When we say beauty we don’t mean facial products and fashion, though there will definitely be some time spent caring for ourselves. What we mean is recreating the life we are striving towards. Obviously we’re not in a place to realize all of what we want out of our lives. But with these days where we can open the windows it is time to recapture our life.

This beauty that we are collecting comes in categories:

Food
Body
Home
Learning
Work
Connecting
Love
Community (friendship)
Creativity

I’m not sure how I can use this space to help or record what we do but I want to. Not just to share it but to have a visual/written record of what we are doing.

One of the things we’ve talked about a lot is how it’s better to just start rather than waiting until all of the plans are all perfect (which they will never be). So here I am on a Saturday night beginning. Actually I started this morning by emptying out the kitchen shelves cleaning and organizing them. I can’t make any promises how diligent I can be about this but I am going to say that I will try to take our lives and fill them with lots of creativity and passion.

Tools we are going to use:

Thrift Store (to send all the extra crap we have accumulated)
The Garden (to be in the sunshine and to feed our bodies)
Music (to make us smile and cry)
Journals (one for writing one for painting)
Our feet (for adventures around town and in nature)
Voices (to begin learning how to talk to each other as a family of three)
The Porch (because it is getting to be that time of year)
Camera (to remind me to see the beauty in the everyday, and to make more with the spaces I inhabit)
Words (create, express, share)
Stamps (because I am always happier when I’m writing letters and sending packages).

