To the side

Last night I spent a few hours in guilty pleasure. I went over to the Tattered Cover and read first paragraph.  It’s just one of those things I love to do to get inspired for my own writing.  I just walk through the fiction section picking up books and reading the first paragraph or two without knowing anything about the book.  It’s a good reminder that good writing isn’t just about story or form but about the words and their beauty.  Of course, even just seeing the covers gives me a preconception of the writing. What I found interesting was how some of the classics were actually less than beautiful, some were even awkward. But that’s a personal opinion, I also get annoyed by authors who would rather you think their cool with words rather than writing beautifully.

So all of this is leading somewhere, doesn’t it always?  I decided about a month ago that I was going to participate in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).  The whole idea is to start a new novel and complete it in a month. I’m doing it for three reasons. One, I need to change my habits, I haven’t really been writing since the beginning of the summer, instead I’ve been watching movies or doing nothing during my time to myself, this isn’t what I want my life to be like, so writing for a month is a good way to relearn to choose to write instead of passively watch. Two, since I haven’t written in so long I’m ‘rusty’ and rather than trying to restart on my big project I am looking at this month as a warm up to return my writing to where is was (like stretching writing needs to be done often to be done well). Three, I have an idea that doesn’t fit with my current project that I’ve been wanting to put down but don’t want to give up on my other project. So starting November 1st I’ll be writing away about Rose and Kale, Neil and Oliver, not to mention Boomer and the farm.

 

