In the grass
Hanging with Bruce
His Style

Yesterday Alder went to his first day of an enrichment program, I left as he was walking to his classroom, his best friends hand in his. I walked back to the car and had the feeling that I forgot something all day. I agreed to this program for a few reasons, mainly to reassure my family that we weren’t “going solo”, but I still have many reservations. As I read through the paperwork yesterday I was okay with it, mostly. I didn’t like that the school districts non-discrimination policy says nothing about sexual orientation. I know at five it isn’t relevant but the tinge of fear still lies there beneath.

I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to drop him off for five days a week. This isn’t the Mama in me speaking this is the woman who has spent so many years and hours learning about education. “We’re so busy learning we don’t have time for school” I hear myself say to the curious stranger, and it’s true though we don’t sit down for lessons there is learning going on all the time, deep learning. Why would I want to interrupt this process to stick him in a room of other kids six hours a day to be taught by someone who’s focus is on 20, or 30 souls.

But this isn’t why we homeschool, not real reason. That would be because we want to because as David Orr says “We can attempt to teach the things that one might imagine the earth would teach us: silence, humility, holiness, connectedness, courtesy, beauty, celebration, giving, restoration, obligation and wildness. “   And to do that a child needs freedom. They need learning to stay like breathing. Just like walking and talking learning happens through a want to know and it is our job to nurture this and help our child find what he is looking for, as well as introduce him to new things.  To grow and learn as a whole person we feel that it best happens in the family and community environment not schools.

