On one of the online homeschooling boards I visit someone with a three-year old asked about starting things and what she needed to have. My answer ended being long and I’m putting it here too because some days I just need a reminder that we are on the right track. Do to weird formating their questions are in bold and my answers are in blue, gray and black (like I said weird formating)

Hey there!

I have a few questions for you guys if you don’t mind! My first however is what supplies did you use for your preschooler? I’m slowly gathering things together – ie, crayons, markers, construction paper, etc etc – but I feel like I’m missing a few things. Any ideas are welcome!

I’m going to tell you what we’ve used in the last year, ds just turned 4. I divided it up by category but we don’t follow a plan it’s just nice to know it there.

Art: Sketchbooks (for drawing on the go), cray-pas, colored pencils, chalk, water colors, fabric scraps, embroidery hoop, needles, embroidery thread, modeling clay, flour (homemade play dough ’cause making the dough is half the fun), old magazines (for cutting up for collages, tempera paint. I’m a believer in using decent supplies for art with kids, quality make a difference in vibrancy and satisfaction, so rather than having a huge amount of supplies we choose at the same time even though this is a long list we didn’t spend a lot of money just looked out for sales and stuff at yard sales. Oh and an oil cloth table cloth to cover the table (again from a thrift store)

Science: vinegar, baking soda, ice cube trays, food coloring, garden tools, a few small planting pots, straws, tinker toys

“School-y stuff”: This is what we used but it was all interest driven, in other words ds was attracted to the ideas. An atlas, maze books, one workbook (he chose it), lots of different size and sided dice (die?), alphabet stamps, insect guide book, library card

Second question – How did you save money? Even with all the school supply sales I’ve easily spent close to $100 and as I said before, I don’t think I’m done.

I’m not sure if we save money or not but we didn’t get the whole thing set up before hand. I found when I did things didn’t get used. We have a monthly budget and go to the learning book store and art store to see what inspires us. Also we let it known to all of our friends that we are homeschooling so they have dropped off discarded stuff for us. Don’t laugh but we also walk the allies near our house and find stuff for wood working and boxes for pretend play

And lastly, did you use a curriculum? I have a TON of workbooks and a few books about homeschooling preschoolers. But everytime someone asks what curr. I’m using and I tell them that, they act as if I’m “doing it wrong”. Any suggestions for either now or for K. would be fabulous.

Thank you! ❤

I know everyone is reminding you that at 3 there isn’t a need for curriculum. What I would suggest is that you read everything that you can get your hands on about homeschooling, and about other things that interest you. By learning something on you are doing two things. You are letting your dc see that discovering new things because you are interested is part of being and it gives you a feel for how things can work later on.

Two last pieces of advice. I’ve noticed no matter what you are doing parenting or educating if it is different from what someone else is doing they will have something to say about it. For some reason some parents think that you homeschooling is some sort judgment of them. Second, have fun with all of this.

Originally Posted by Crrrunchberrie View Post
Hey there!

I have a few questions for you guys if you don’t mind! My first however is what supplies did you use for your preschooler? I’m slowly gathering things together – ie, crayons, markers, construction paper, etc etc – but I feel like I’m missing a few things. Any ideas are welcome!

I’m going to tell you what we’ve used in the last year, ds just turned 4. I divided it up by category but we don’t follow a plan it’s just nice to know it there.

Art: Sketchbooks (for drawing on the go), cray-pas, colored pencils, chalk, water colors, fabric scraps, embroidery hoop, needles, embroidery thread, modeling clay, flour (homemade play dough ’cause making the dough is half the fun), old magazines (for cutting up for collages, tempera paint. I’m a believer in using decent supplies for art with kids, quality make a difference in vibrancy and satisfaction, so rather than having a huge amount of supplies we choose at the same time even htough this is a long list we didn’t spend a lot of money just looked out for sales and stuff at yard sales. Oh and an oil cloth table cloth to cover the table (again from a thrift store)

Science: vinegar, baking soda, ice cube trays, food coloring, garden tools, a few small planting pots, straws, tinker toys

“School-y stuff”: This is what we used but it was all interest driven, in other words ds was attracted to the ideas. An atlas, maze books, one workbook (he chose it), lots of different size and sided dice (die?), alphabet stamps, insect guide book, library card

Second question – How did you save money? Even with all the school supply sales I’ve easily spent close to $100 and as I said before, I don’t think I’m done.

I’m not sure if we save money or not but we didn’t get the whole thing set up before hand. I found when I did things didn’t get used. We have a monthly budget and go to the learning book store and art store to see what inspires us. Also we let it known to all of our friends that we are homeschooling so they have dropped off discarded stuff for us. Don’t laugh but we also walk the allies near our house and find stuff for wood working and boxes for pretend play

And lastly, did you use a curriculum? I have a TON of workbooks and a few books about homeschooling preschoolers. But everytime someone asks what curr. I’m using and I tell them that, they act as if I’m “doing it wrong”. Any suggestions for either now or for K. would be fabulous.

Thank you! ❤

I know everyone is reminding you that at 3 there isn’t a need for curriculum. What I would suggest is that you read everything that you can get your hands on about homeschooling, and about other things that interest you. By learning something on you are doing two things. You are letting your dc see that discovering new things because you are interested is part of being and it gives you a feel for how things can work later on.

Two last pieces of advice. I’ve noticed no matter what you are doing parenting or educating if it is different than what someone else is doing they will have something to say about it. For some reason some parents think that you homeschooling is some sort judgment of them. Second, have fun with all of this

