Every December since Alder was born a sense of dread comes over me. I see all the wonderful Advent calendars and Christmas decorations that fill the crafty internet world and part of me want s to join in. But, and a big but, I am Jewish. Even though I grew up with a Christmas tree, the Hanukkah bush my grandmother called it. I feel weird going through with it in my own home. This is possibly because I am more religious than the rest of my family. The argument in my head goes something like this.

“The holidays feelings and excitement looks so tempting,” the soft side says.

“Yes but why decorate for a holiday we don’t celebrate?”

“We could decorate for Hanukkah,” the soft side counters.

“But Hanukkah isn’t really a big religious deal it was just Americanized because it happens around Christmas”

“What about Solstice?” the soft side offers.

“Hmm”

“Come on it’ll be fun and we only ever give a few gifts anyway,” the soft side is digging in deep.

“But how do we explain the difference to Alder”

“Come on just enjoy the season!” the soft side begs.

Each year it goes back and forth until one of us wins. This year my rational side won by default, we’re moving and there is no way I am going to decorate in the middle of that. I will still make Latkes  and Cabbage Soup one evening. And we will light the menorah and play dreidle with gelt (chocolate money). But this year the does of the holidays we’ll get is for visits to the other side of the family (I am sure my mother in law has already started planning).

This is the tree we had two years ago, it was a little last minute but Kevin felt like doing something from his childhood. We decorated it with Alder’s toys and fabric scraps tied together for garland.

Saturday morning at the Solstice Tree

