breeze

When you are a Mama you don’t have a lot of time to yourself. So it was a treat when Kevin and Alder decided that they didn’t want to come to Denver with me to pick up my new/used camera. I left them building a new bed for Alder and headed north.

I bought my camera, a Nikon D50, used from a friend had recently upgraded. It isn’t a top of the line camera but it comes with two great lenses and it is so much clearer than our old point and shoot. With the camera all snug in the car I headed over to an old favorite coffee shop to write for a while. I felt out-of-place with my yellow pad and pens but I managed to get a whole scene down before finishing my scone.

From the coffee shop I wandered over to another favorite, the Tattered Cover Bookstore, where I spent two hours browsing. To be honest most of my time I spent reading the staff reviews and writing down authors and books to check out at the library. Just being there among all the books and people kept me smiling. It was the first time that I had been there, since we got back to Colorado, by myself and it was so nice to move at my speed.

In general it was nice to go into Denver without making too many plans to just be there. It’s part of what I love about this house. We are just close enough to Denver that I’m there at least once a week. Having access to my favorite city makes living in these woods even better. If I can manage to stay in the woods and on the prairie most of the week and spend one day in Denver and one in Colorado Springs my life feels full, it’s when I get caught in the in between (the suburbs) that I start to question my purpose in life. I know there are mountains at my door step too, but they aren’t going anywhere. Right now I need to focus on the woods and plains they are what nurture me.

