So here we are. So many months from January and the year just keeps throwing us more difficulties. Right now there is a clear path, one I don’t like but it gets us to where we want to be. It means throwing out the things I hold closest to my heart for a little while. It means changing who we feel we are. But it also means that someday soon we will the choice to do things the way we want with confidence.

It’s the boy I worry about most, because for the next year he will sit in a classroom, away from all the freedom and independence that he’s always had. While his father and I try our hardest to create the true life we want to live. To us eight months is just a little while but for him it is forever. Every bone in my body knows this is wrong for him. But my mind knows that it has to happen if we want have the rest of our lives free to do as we wish.

But for now we are following a different plan, not one of our own choosing.

